Walking the Via Beata

The Via Beata Pilgrimage route is over 400 miles long and spans some beautiful stretches of England.  Traditional pilgrimage routes were about learning from God and about yourself on a journey that represented life itself.  The Via Beata is becoming an established route with written guides for every (roughly) ten miles and our artworks are frequent throughout the journey (though still many still to complete). 

On this page of the website you will find everything you need to walk the Via Beata route.

There is still work to do – maps to make, routes to waymark and artworks to complete, so please bear with us, and we’d love feedback or volunteer help to make this a route that remains for generations to come.

Via Beata Map

The continuously updating map of the Via Beata


If you are walking or riding the route, we’d love to see stories of your adventures.  We’d encourage you to make a video on each leg of your journey (between two waystations for example) and upload to social media using the Hashtags – #journeyViaBeata and #ViaBeata

OS maps required:

Here is a list of Ordinance survey maps that you will need if you wish to use explorer maps all the way across the UK for the full route. 

OS 1:25000 Maps

OL35               North   Pembrokeshire

Explorer 185   Newcastle Emlyn

Explorer 186   Llandeilo & Brechfa Forest

Explorer 187 Llandovery

Explorer 188   Builth Wells

Explorer 201   Knighton & Presteigne

Explorer 202   Leominster & Bromyard

Explorer 204   Worcester & Droitwich Spa

Explorer 220   Birmingham

Explorer 221   Coventry & Warwick

Explorer 222   Rugby & Daventry

Explorer 223   Northampton & Market Harborough

Explorer 224   Corby, Kettering & Wellingborough

Explorer 225   Huntingdon & St Ives

Explorer 226   Ely & Newmarket

Explorer 227   Peterborough

Explorer 228   March & Ely

Explorer 229   Thetford Forest in The Brecks

Explorer 230   Diss & Harleston

Explorer 237   Norwich

Explorer 231   Southwold & Bungay

OL 40              The Broads


Route Guides (COMING SOON)

Start Point Finish Point Distance (Miles) Downloadable PDF Spare
  Little Gidding      
Little Gidding Raunds 12 LG-RA  
Raunds  Wellingborough 12 RA-WE  
Wellingborough Merry Tom Crossing 14 WE-MTC  
Merry Tom Crossing Watford 13 MTC-WF  
Watford Ashby St Ledgers 1.5 WF-ASL  
Ashby St Ledgers Wolfhamcote 3.5 ASL-WO  
Wolfhamcote Leamington Hasting 6 WO-LEH  

Guides are subject to change and we cannot guarantee error free.


Report a Problem with the Via Beata

Walk the Way 2021

If you would like to be part of the Walk the Way project, you can find out more information here: